Contact Us  |  Print Page  |  Contact Us  |  Sign In  |  Join
OFA Annual Meeting
Share |

2018 Annual Meeting

Ohio Forest Products Industry - Past. Present! Future?

See who was there

The 2018 Ohio Forestry Association Annual Meeting was held February 27-March 1, 2018 at the Embassy Suites in Dublin Ohio. The meeting began with a reception on Tuesday evening with a reception at the Juniper Rooftop Restaurant in downtown Columbus. Attendees were bused (Sponsored by Tiverton TImber)  from the hotel to the Juniper where they enjoyed cocktails, hors d'oeuvre (Sponsored by Superior Hardwoods of Ohio) and an evening of networking.

Wednesday kicked off with continental berakfast (Sponsored by BTG Pactual), the Christian Lumberman's Meeting, industry exhibitors and the Tree Farm Silent Auction.

The first presenter of the day was Keynote Speaker, Deb Hawkinson, President of the Forest Resource Association. Deb led a discussion on the impact of national level policies and legislation on the hardwood industry in Ohio. You can download Deb's presentation here.

The second presenter was Bob Boyles, Chief, Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Forestry. Bob gave the attendees an update on the date of the Division of Forestry. You can view Bob's presentation here.

After a short networking break to visit with exhibitors, Matt Bumgardner, of the US Forest Service, took to podium to discuss Hardwood Market Directions with the group. Those that are interested can download Matt's presentation.

The awards luncheon (Sponsored by Murphy Tractor & Equipment Company, The Hummel Group and Southern Loggers Cooperative) is always a highlight of the Annual Meeting and this year was no different. As is tradition the outgoing OFA President, Stanley Swierz of Stanley D. Swierz Consulting Forester, Inc., passed the gavel to incoming President, Randy Bates of Murphy Tractor and Equipment Company. Stan was presented with a wooden clock as a token of appreciation for his many years of service on the OFA Board of Directors. Please join us in welcoming Randy to the President's position. Thank you Stan for all of your hard work over the past 10 years!

The first award of the day was The Logger of the Year Award, presented to Charles "Butch" Nichols of Nichols Logging, LLC. Atlee Kaufman, of Bent Wood Solutions was the recipient of the Outstanding Individual in Industry Award. Cotton Randall from The Division of Forestry was awarded the Outstanding Individual in Government Service. Levi Arnold from the Guernsey County Soil and Water Conservation District was presented with the Outstanding Individual In Conservation Education Award. Ryan Redoutey of Redoutey Logging was the recipient of the Outstanding Logging Activist Award. Jim Elze of LZ Forestree Consulting was the winner of the Outstanding Individual in Private Service Award. John V. Schmidt, Tree Farmer was presented with the Director's Award, and Dave Bergman, OFA Treasurer was the recipient of the Hall of Fame Award. Congratulations to all award winners and thank you to Ames True Temper and the Division of Forestry for providing the awards.

2018 Logger of the Year
Charles "Butch" Nichols and Jason Nichols, Nichols Logging, LLC


  Atlee Kauffman                       Cotton Randall                          Levi Arnold

Ryan Redoutey                          Jim Elze                       John V. Schmidt 

The Ohio Tree Farm Committee also presented some awards. The 2018 Tree Farm of the Year award was presented to John and Bess Lusk of Wispering Ridge Tree Farm in Woodsfield, Ohio. Adam Komar, ODNR Service Forester gave a brief presentation on the Lusk's property. If you missed the meeting, you can take a look at their property here.  Jim Elze was also the recipient of the Tree Farm Inspector of the Year. Jim was presented with a plaque and a Cabelas gift card. Thanks to Ames True Temper and the American Tree Farm System for providing the awards.

     Jeremy Scherf, Jim Elze, Tom Mills                           Adam Komar, John and Bess Lusk, Tom Mills

The afternoon sessions kicked off with a presentation by Bob Oter of citizenAID North America. Bob talked to attendees about how to help severe injury or trauma victims before emergency personnel arrives by using his company's mobile app. You can download a copy of Bob's presentation here.

The next presenter was Mike Snow of the American Hardwood Export Council. Mike talked to attendees about future markets for American hardwoods. A copy of Mike's presentation can be downloaded here.

The next presenter was David Caldwell of the Hardwood Market Report. David shared his insights of current market conditions and what the future of the hardwood market holds. David's presentation can be found here.

The session wrapped up with a Hardwood Product Sector Panel that consisted of Neil Poland, Mullican Flooring, Ernie Hershberger, Homestead Furniture, Dwain Schlabach, Mt. Easton Pallet, Merle Stutzman, Weaver Custom Homes
Dave Forst, Woodcraft Industries and Jimmy Thornberry, Powell Valley Millwork.

The meeting wrapped up with our traditional President's Reception sponsored by Yoder Lumber,, McKay-Gross Division, Columbus Equipment Company and Sheoga Hardwood Flooring. Thanks to all who attended, exhibited, sponsored and helped in the planning of the meeting.

2018 Sponsors








Welcome 2018 Exhibitors!

Association of Consulting Foresters
Columbus Equipment Co.
Menominee Saw & Supply
Murphy tractor & Equipment Company
National Association of Royalty Owners (NARO)
Ohio Division of Forestry
Ohio Tree Farm Committee
Paw-Taw John Services, Inc.
Ricer Equipment
Rudd Equipment Co.
U-C Coatings

Community Search
Sign In


Forestry and Wildlife Field Day

10/5/2018 » 10/7/2018
2018 Paul Bunyan Show Exhibitor/Sponsor Registration

Cutting News
Featured Members